Skip to main content

Create, Edit and Manage a Message Channel

Securely connect Volunteers in real time using Rosterfy’s AI-screened messaging channels and seamless member management.

📌 Note: The screenshots and settings shown in this article may not match what you see in your own platform, as Rosterfy is highly customisable. If you need guidance specific to your setup, please contact our support team.

Rosterfy’s Messaging module provides Admins, Leaders, and Volunteers with a secure, real-time environment to collaborate and share updates. Built-in AI content screening automatically protects users from harmful or inappropriate material. Communication is organised through dedicated chat channels created for specific Volunteer groups, allowing for seamless member management and targeted messaging.


Create a Channel

  1. Click Messaging > Channels.

  2. Click the Create button. The Step 1: Channel setup screen appears:

  3. Enter a Channel name. The name is displayed in the Admin Console and the User Portal.

  4. (Optional) Configure the following fields:

    • Description: A customised description of the channel.

    • Channel permissions: Click to turn the toggle button on for the following options:

      • Disable Messaging (Premium): Allows only Admins to make announcements or post messages. For the Standard version, the Disable Messaging setting appears greyed out.

      • Allow members to react: Allows channel members to react to messages with a selection of emojis.

      • Allow threads: Allows channel members to reply to messages in a thread.

  5. (Optional) Click the Allow media and file uploads dropdown menu to select one of the following options: No one, Admins only, Everyone. For the standard version, the Allow media and file uploads setting is locked to No one.

  6. (Optional) Check the Add me to the channel option to add yourself to the channel.

  7. Click the Next: Add Members button. The Step 2: Add Members screen appears:

  8. Click the Choose how to add members dropdown menu to select one of the following options to add members from a specific group: Event Shift, Event, User Group, Functional Area, Venue, Location, Role Offer, Job Title, or Manual (search by name). The additional fields appear:

    For the Standard version, members can only be added by a manual search:

  9. Enter a value in the Search field. For example, if you select Event as pictured above, enter the Event you wish to search to add Volunteers from that Event.

  10. (Optional) Enter a Volunteer's name in the Add extra members field to add members that are not included in the specific group selected.

  11. Click the Search button. Results appear under the search field.

  12. Click to check the result option you wish to add members from. You can select multiple search results at once and run consecutive searches to refine your selection.

  13. Click the Add members button. The Channel appears in the Channel list.


Edit a Channel

To edit a channel's information, members and settings, see the following instructions:

  1. Click Messaging > Channels.

  2. Click the More Actions menu on the channel you wish to edit.

  3. Click Edit Channel. The Update Channel screen appears:

  4. Edit any of the following fields or permissions desired.

  5. Click the Update button.


Add or Remove Members

When editing a channel, you can add and remove channel members.

  1. Click the Edit members button. The Add members to channel screen appears:

  2. Select one of the following actions:

    • Add members: Enter a Volunteer's name in the Search Users field > click the Search button > click to check all members you wish to add to the channel.

    • Remove a member: Click to uncheck all members you wish to remove from the channel.

  3. Click the Update channel members button. The Update Channel screen appears:

  4. Click the Update button.


View Channel Information

  1. Click Messaging > Channels.

  2. Click the More Actions menu on the channel you wish to edit.

  3. Click Channel information. The channel's information appears:

  4. Click the Close button.


Join or Leave a Channel as an Admin

As an Admin, you can join or leave a channel via the More Actions menu.

💡Tip: The Join Channel or Leave Channel buttons change dynamically based on whether you are already in the channel. If you added yourself during the creation process, the Leave Channel option is displayed first.

  1. Click Messaging > Channels.

  2. Click the More Actions menu on the channel you wish to edit.

  3. Select one of the following actions:

    • Click Join Channel. All channels you join display the following green icon under the channel name:

    • Click Leave Channel. The green Joined icon is removed from view.


View Channel Users

To view current and past members of a channel, see the following instructions:

  1. Click Messaging > Channels.

  2. Click the View Users icon on the channel you wish to view the list of members.

    The User list appears:

  3. Click the More Actions menu to either remove a user from the channel or add them back.

Did this answer your question?