Skip to main content

Messaging Features and Access Permissions

Connect admins, leaders, and volunteers through dedicated chat channels.

📌 Note: The screenshots and settings shown in this article may not match what you see in your own platform, as Rosterfy is highly customisable. If you need guidance specific to your setup, please contact our support team.

Rosterfy Messaging connects admins, leaders, and volunteers in real time through dedicated chat channels. Available in Standard (Free) and Premium plan tiers, it provides flexible communication tools and permission controls to keep your team organised.


Standard (Free) vs. Premium: What's Included?

There are two Messaging plan options to fit your organisations's communciation needs:

  • Standard (Free): Great for small teams getting started with essential chat channels.

  • Premium: Delivers more flexibility, automation, and control for growing teams that need features like auto-syncing channels, AI moderation and file sharing.

Feature

Standard (Free)

Premium

Active Channels & Members

10 channels and 10 members per channel (TBD)

Unlimited

Manual Channel Creation

(Add members by search only)

Auto-Sync Channel Creation

(Instantly create channels by selecting an existing Event, Shift, Role, Group, or Location)

Member Management

(View, remove, restore, view join date)

Chat Essentials

(Group chat, reactions, GIFs, push notifications, read receipts, mute and exit chats)

Basic Admin Controls

(Role-based access, archive/delete channels)

Admin Only Messaging

(Only Admins can make announcements or post messages)

File Uploads

(Images, videos and PDFs)

Advanced Messaging

(Threads and pin chats)

AI Content Moderation


Managing Permissions and Access

Access to Messaging features is controlled by role permissions to ensure secure and organised communication. Click Settings > Admin Permissions to update permissions for admins.

💡Tip: See the Create and Update Admin Permissions article for more information.

Administrator Access

Full Administrators have complete access to Messaging features by default. Lite Admins do not have access by deffault and must have permissions explicitly granted by a Full Administrator.

There are two levels of permissions:

  • Channel: Grants high-level administrative control over channels across your portal:

    • Create: Create new chat channels.

    • Delete: Permanently delete entire channels.

    • Join Channel: Join any existing chat channel.

    • Read: Grants administrative visibility into channels across the portal.

    • Update: Manage channel settings (archive/unarchive channels, edit channel permissions, update channel names/descriptions, and manage member lists).

  • User: Allows an administrator to participate inside chat channels like a standard user:

    • Create: Send new messages in a chat channel.

    • Delete: Remove their own sent messages.

    • Read: View messages and conversation history in joined channels.

    • Update: Edit their own sent messages.

💡Tip: If User-level permissions are enabled for a role, but Channel-level permissions are not, the Read permission under Channel must be enabled. Without Channel > Read access, the user will be unable to view channels or use any of their User-level messaging capabilities.


Volunteer Access

Volunteer access to Messaging channels is controlled directly in Checkpoints. To manage volunteer messaging, admins can create a new checkpoint or update an existing checkpoint. When configuring the checkpoint to enable Messaging for a volunteer:

  1. Click Workflows > Checkpoints.

  2. Click the Create button to set up a new checkpoint, or click the More Actions menu > Update to edit an existing one. The checkpoint's details appear:

  3. Click the Permissions tab.

  4. Select one of the following options depending on how you want to configure volunteer access:

    • Automatic Access: Check the All permissions option to enable all permissions listed. Messaging access is automatically included.

    • Customise Permissions: If the All permissions option is unchecked, click to check the Can access Messaging? option to enable messaging.

  5. Click the Save button.

💡Tip: Volunteers only receive chat notifications if they are added to an active channel and have a messaging-enabled checkpoint. Notifications are not sent if messaging permissions are missing or if the channel is archived. If a volunteer is already in an active channel, enabling messaging on their checkpoint will start sending notifications immediately.

💡Tip: See the Create and Update a Checkpoint article for more information.

💡Tip: See the Messaging Volunteer User Guide for more information on how the Messaging feature will appear in the User Portal.

Did this answer your question?