Skip to main content

Messaging - Overview

In this article we'll cover the features of Rosterfy's Messaging feature.


Overview

The messaging module within Rosterfy enhances the communications offerings within Rosterfy.

Messaging enables admins, leaders, and volunteers to share information and collaborate in real time. along with automatic content screening for harmful or inappropriate material using integrated AI.

Note: Channel limits, storage caps and message history restrictions will apply.



Messaging Standard and Messaging Premium Tiers

Messaging Standard

Free

Perfect for small teams getting started with messaging

Messaging Premium

$

Ideal for growing teams who need advanced chat functionality and automation

Channels

Limits apply (TBC)

Unlimited

Members per Channel

Limits apply (TBC)

Unlimited

File Uploads

N/A

Images, Video & PDF Included

Admin Controls

  • Role-based access for admins

  • Archive/delete channels

  • Manage channel users

Channel Management & Creation

  • Manual channel creation (select individual users)

  • Channel Member Management (dedicated channel member listing, with ability to remove, restore and view join date etc)

Everything in Standard, plus:

  • Auto-sync Channels with Shifts/Events/Roles/Locations/Groups

Chat Features

  • Group conversations

  • Reactions & Gifs

  • Mute & Exit Chats

  • Push Notifications

  • Read Receipts

Everything in Standard, plus:

  • File Uploads

  • Threads

  • Pin Chats

  • Edit & Delete own messages

AI Moderation for user generated content

N/A

Included

Admin Announcements

N/A

Create channels where only admins can send messages to chat members, ensuring important updates and announcements are never missed.


Role Based Permissions

Access for your administrators to the Messaging feature is controlled through Admin Permissions. Permissions can be added to manage who and how administrators can access messaging, specifically;

  • Create (Create channels)

  • Delete (Delete channels)

  • Join Channel

  • Read (View only)

  • Update (Including archiving channels, editing channel permissions, updating channel names & descriptions, and add/remove channel members)


Checkpoint Permissions

By default, volunteers will not be able to access the Messaging tab in their portal or app, until they have been added to a chat channel and have the appropriate access.

Access for your volunteers to the Messaging feature is controlled through Checkpoint Permissions. A checkpoint permission, Can access Messaging, is available to control a users access to the Messaging feature.


Creating, Editing and Managing Channels

Check out the Create, Edit and Manage a Message Channel article, for step-by-step instructions on creating and managing channels.


Volunteer User Guide

Volunteers are able to see all active chats and pinned chats within the dedicated, Messaging tab.

This tab also includes the ability to search chats.

Check out the Volunteer User Guide for more assistance.

Did this answer your question?